Last updated: 13 Jul, 2021

List of Funding Agencies

World wide support

Over the past decades, Auroville has received support from a considerable number of governmental and non-governmental agencies, foundations, corporate donors and private well-wishers in India and abroad.
This selective list comprises funding agencies, which have supported specific research and pilot projects and programmes in Auroville and the neighbouring villages.

International Organisations

  • European Commission (EC)
  • ICEF (India - Canadian Environment Facility)
  • OECD/Hunger Campaign
  • United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (UNCHS)
  • United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO)

Foreign Governments & Governmental Organisations

  • AUSTRALIA: Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

  • BELGIUM: Algemene Belgische Ontwikkelingssamenwerking (ABOS)

  • CANADA: Canadian High Commission in India

  • DENMARK: Danish International Development Agency (DANIDA)

  • FRANCE: Ministère des Affaires Etrangères

  • GERMANY: Bundesministerium für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit
    Deutsche Welthunger Hilfe (FAO)
    Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ)
    Foerdergemeinschaft Rotary Ludwigshafen
    German Agro-Action
    German Appropriate Technology Exchange(GATE)
    Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KFW)
    Ministerium für Bundes- und Europa-angelegenheiten des
    Landes Schleswig-Holstein
  • JAPAN: Japanese Embassy in India

  • NETHERLANDS: Royal Netherlands Embassy in India

  • NEW ZEALAND: New Zealand High Commission in India

  • SPAIN: Government of Navarra
    Municipality of Pamplona


  • U.K.: Overseas Development Administration (ODA now DFID)

  • USA: V.I.T.A. (Volunteers in Technical Assistance)

Foreign Non-Governmental Organisations

  • AUSTRALIA: Quaker Service Australia

  • CANADA: Centre Créatif l'Elan

  • FRANCE: Alliance Française
    Association Vitalis
    Communautés d'Emmaus
    Secours Populaire Français

    Deutsch - Indisches Kinderhilfswerk (DIK)
    Dritte Welt Kreis (DWK)
    Friedrich-Naumann Stiftung


  • ITALY: Association VIDYA
    Himalaya Trust

  • JAPAN: Human Performance Institute

  • NETHERLANDS: Stichting de Zaaier

  • SPAIN: Fundacion Centro Sri Aurobindo

  • U.K.: Commonwealth Human Ecology Council (CHEC)
    Findhorn Foundation

  • U.S.A.: Earthstewards Network
    Foundation for World Education
    Infinity Foundation
    Institute of Evolutionary Research
    Matagiri Centre
    Merriam Hill Centre
    Sri Aurobindo's Action Centre
    Threshold Foundation
    Trickle-up Program
    Turtle Island Fund

Indian Government and Governmental Organisations

Government of India

  • Building Material & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC)

  • Ministry of Education

  • Ministry of Environment

  • Ministry of Human Resource Development

  • Ministry of Non-conventional Energy Sources

  • Ministry of Rural Development

  • Ministry of Science and Technology

  • Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO)

  • Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR)

  • Indian Navy

  • Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA)

  • National Wasteland Development Board (NWDB)

Pondicherry Government

  • District Rural Development Agency (DRDA)

Tamil Nadu Government

  • Tamil Fund

  • Tamil Nadu Energy Development Agency (TEDA)

  • Tamil Nadu Family Welfare Board

  • Tamil Nadu Social Welfare Board

  • Tamil Nadu State Forest Department

  • TRYSEM Programme

Indian Non-Governmental Organisations & Businesses

  • All India Books
  • Aurofood
  • Auroshikha
  • Bombay Natural History Society
  • Credit Himatsingka
  • Indian Oil Corporation
  • Indian Tobacco Company
  • Janagri
  • J.R.D.Tata Trust
  • Modi Charitable Trust
  • New Horizon Sugar Mills
  • Oil and Natural Gas Corporation
  • Sri Aurobindo's Action
  • Sri Aurobindo Memorial Fund
  • Sri. Dorabji Tata Trust
  • Sri. Ratan Tata Trust
  • Tata Energy Research Institute